Deborah Hayes

Musician, musicologist

boulder, Colorado, USA


Deborah Hayes is professor emerita and former associate dean for graduate studies in the College of Music at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Her publications include studies of music and musicians of the eighteenth century and more recent times, including historical women composers

The Classic Women page and linked documents provide an overview of European and American women whose music dates from 1750 to the early 1800s, the Classic era. Other pages are devoted to the music of seven composers active in the late 1700s

   — Maria Barthélemon (Polly Young)

   — Cecilia Maria Barthélemon

   — Marie-Emmanuelle Bayon Louis

   — Maria Hester Reynolds Park

   — Maria F. Parke

   — Jane Savage

   — Ann Valentine

The Publications page includes links to essays and other information about four more recent composers and their music—Ruth Shaw Wylie (1916–1989), Gabriela Lena Frank (b. 1972), Peter Sculthorpe (1929–2014), and Peggy Glanville-Hicks (1912–1990).

English translations of Jean-Philippe Rameau’s Harmonic Generation and his Dissertation on the Different Methods of Accompaniment . . . with the Plan for a New Method (both 1974, out-of-print) are available (free) in .pdf upon request.

Click on title to order:

Rosanna Scalfi Marcello: Twelve Cantatas for Alto Voice and Continuo (ca. 1730), edited by Deborah Hayes and John Glenn Paton. (ClarNan Editions, 2012).


for more information



List (PDF 41p.)



List (PDF 14p.)



List (PDF 14p.)


Sources and Abbreviations


New Editions